{ARC} Review: Honor Among Thieves by Rachel Caine and Anne Aguirre || I won’t call this a romance, but…

Honor Among Thieves

The Honors #1

Rachel Caine & Ann Aguire

book 5

Petty criminal Zara Cole has a painful past that’s made her stronger than most, which is why she chose life in New Detroit instead moving with her family to Mars. In her eyes, living inside a dome isn’t much better than a prison cell.

Still, when Zara commits a crime that has her running scared, jail might be exactly where she’s headed. Instead Zara is recruited into the Honors, an elite team of humans selected by the Leviathan—a race of sentient alien ships—to explore the outer reaches of the universe as their passengers.

Zara seizes the chance to flee Earth’s dangers, but when she meets Nadim, the alien ship she’s assigned, Zara starts to feel at home for the first time. But nothing could have prepared her for the dark, ominous truths that lurk behind the alluring glitter of starlight.

Publisher: Katherine Tegan Books

Published: February 13th 2018

goodreads.png

 


ARC Disclaimer Edelweiss

Trigger Warning

 

 

 

 Parental Abuse


If I believed in the half star system, this would be a 3.5 (Same day update: I lied, it’s a solid four). Before release day review because I was too lazy to read it any earlier and I weirdly loved this?

After stealing the purse from a businessman’s daughter, Zara’s life is put in danger so she get sent to a rehabilitation center; a place she has been trying to escape.Soon after, a man recruits Zara into the Honors, one of the one hundred humans this year selected by the Leviathan, a race of sentient alien ships, to board and explore outer space with them.

coffee divider 2

This book was odd. Imean, I can’t say much about the story because it was so strange. One part of the plot strangely reminded me of an aspect in The Night Masquerade by Nnedi Okorafor (which is not a bad thing… if you guys have read that book, you know 😉 ).

A lot of questions popped up in my mind, but I shall excuse them as this is a series. It’s action packed, the stakes were raised, things were fast paced and I was not expecting to like this as much as I did. I mean, I expected to like it, but not this much. 

coffee divider 2

The strongest points of this story were the probably the characters. They were diverseZara is black, Beatriz is Brazilian and there’s a Chinese side character, Chao-Xang. The relationships between them all were amazing, especially between Zara and Nadim. It didn’t go in a romantic direction, though I have a feeling it’s going to go there in the next book, which I’m not apposed to. Beatriz was also a really good friend to Zara, they both had their separate strengths and bounced off each other nicely.

That ending ended so abruptly, very cliffhanger-y yet captivated me, made me anticipate the sequel with a passion. It’s a strange book, but I will definitely read the next one.

3 thoughts on “{ARC} Review: Honor Among Thieves by Rachel Caine and Anne Aguirre || I won’t call this a romance, but…”

Leave a comment