{Audio Book} Review: Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff || Lack of heart racing, but everything else is amazing 🎧

Gemina

Illuminae Files #2

Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

book review 40

The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Timesbestseller that critics are calling “out-of-this-world awesome.” 

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminaecontinues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

Once again told through a compelling dossier of emails, IMs, classified files, transcripts, and schematics, Gemina raises the stakes of the Illuminae Files, hurling readers into an enthralling new story that will leave them breathless.

Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

Published: October 18th 2016

goodreads.png

 


Possible Spoilers For: Illuminae

Trigger Warning

 

 

 

 

Murder, Gore, Drug Use, So Much F*cking Death


“Patience and Silence had one beautiful daughter. And her name was Vengeance.” 

YOOOOO I SPENT ALL DAY LISTENING TO THIS CINEMATIC (?) GENIUS.  12 HOURS 0_o. I don’t know why I was so nervous about reading this minus time… and I do know but I’ll talk about that below, but this was SO GOOD. Everything Illuminae was missing, Gemina had, but it was also a visa versa sort of thing.

In this second book, we follow Hanna and Nik, who are dealing with so much stuff: BeiTech and giant killer drug worms (yeah, weird) and other things can’t say because spoilers :/ . Since we’re on a spaceship, there’s not much to vividly imagine, but the concept of this whole setting was amazing.

coffee divider 2

“You might get only one shot. So shoot. You know who said that?”
The rifle clatters to the bloody floor.
“Hanna FUCKING Donnelly. That’s who.” 

gemina-fanart.jpg

As for Hanna herself… I JUST LOVE HER OKAY? I was nervous because she’s described as the commander’s daughter, a ‘spoiled little rich girl’ and I guess I stereotyped her as a b*tchy character before I even met her. BOY WAS I WRONG. She was so badass, not an asshole and a new favorite. Overthrowing stereotypes like a BOSS. And her relationship with her dad was sweet. I think I may like her more than Kady? I definitely do #sorrynotsorry.

And Nik… so I usually take notes as I read to prepare for reviews and my notes are 75% I love Nik, I love Hanna, I love them together, leave me alone. Dammit if I thought he wouldn’t win my heart; he’s been through so much. I loved his voice actor, his  the drawings we’ll get to that. He is the definition of ‘not what he appears to be’. Him being in a gang? The tattoos? Those are just props to the awesomeness that he is.

coffee divider 2

“And blood and tears and screams did not matter anymore, because at least they are together.” 

The romance in this one was done waaaay better than Illuminae. And that’s saying something since it’s a bit instalovey. It wasn’t angtsy and Hanna was dating someone in the beginning, but still. Speaking of her… boyfriend, I actually kind of liked them together? In the beginning? Of course, he had to fuck it up.

We also meet Nik’s cousin, Ella, who not meant to be shady is this books version of Kady, but way more snarky and I loved her strength despite her being in a wheelchair. The sarcastic banter between the three makes it all better. Of course, BeiTech, our villain, manage to interest me— especially Cerberus A.K.A Falk. But, those worms stole the show. I mean, WHY WOULD YOU HAVE THOSE THINGS ON A SHIP? THE DRUGS ARE NOT WORTH IT.

coffee divider 2

“This tiny moment. In between the time you decide to pull a trigger and the time death arrives. There’s just you and it and everything you’re about to take away. It’s too big. It goes forever.” 

This behemoth of a book did not hold back on the deaths. The only thing I felt lacking was anxiety or worry for characters which only increased when a certain plot device was introduced towards the end of the book. I mean, I definitely cared about these characters, but was I ever worried they wouldn’t make it? No.

I mentioned my hesitation in reading this… and the main reason was AIDEN. I loved his murderous, morally ambiguous ways; I didn’t want him to change. But I wouldn’t know if he changed… he’s barely there until the end and it was GLORIOUS. I mean, he is on the good guys side, but oh how I missed him. Yet, he’s still reduced to the surveillance guy for about 82% of the book.

coffee divider 2

I’ve mentioned above the drawings, done by the amazing Marie Lu—and this was a wonderful addition. I do wish there was color, but it doesn’t diminish my love for these drawings. I might be reaching but I TOTALLY GET THE NAME NOW. Gemina=twin??? you’ll get it when you read it.

I do have a spoilery issue that the longer I sit on it, the more it bothers me, so… click here if you want to see my frustrations. As much as I love these books… They’re formulaic. I can’t get into the d=same nail-biting mode that I was in during Illumiae. It’s the same rush against the clock, fighting to stay alive, oh no on of the main characters died, oh wait, sikes it’s a prank bro did we get you? kind of recipe… which has me thinking about the final book. I am 85% certain the last book will break the 5 star cycle because the book isn’t even out yet and I know the plot. It sucks but… *shrugs*

Audiobook Review (1)

This is still a behemoth of a book, coming in at around 12-ish hours. Because of spoilers above, I wasn’t as on the edge of my seat, so my listening experience was more lax. However, the original audiobook cast is here when we see some characters from the first book. However, I loved the new characters voices, too. I remember in Illuminae, I had an issue with Kady’s voice actor still do in this one if I’m honest, but our main character, Hanna’s voice, was so good. You can hear the emotion and it wasn’t stilted.

An issue I had was with Mr. Surveillance Guy’s voice… I loved it, but it’s so weird, his voice was more cheery (?) than I was expecting, which made me side eye the book when he narrated scenes that were emotional.  I also had a problem with Ella’s voice actors lack of emotion in sad scenes, she stayed true with her snarky, dry voice I still loved her, though.


Overall, this book does not disappoint. Did you have any doubt it would?

9 thoughts on “{Audio Book} Review: Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff || Lack of heart racing, but everything else is amazing 🎧”

Leave a comment