Black-A-Thon TBR

This was an impromtu decision, but I’m participating in Blackathon, a month-long read-a-thon being hosted by Francina Simone, Jesse @ Bowties & Books and Lauren @ The Novel Lush! It in February (for obvious reasons) and you just… read black books and books by black authors.

I was planning on doing something like this anyway, but my idea was kind of aimless, so this gives me a sort of layout or guidebook to organize my reading list. There’s also some recs the host have put together that has also helped.

FEEL THE LOVE: Read a book (any genre) featuring romance between two black people (or one black person + a person of color).

  • This Is What It Feels Like by Rebecca Barrow || Hopefully a copy from the library will be available by the time the read-a-thon starts, but if not, Book Depository it is you know?

WAKANDA FOREVER: Read a graphic novel/comic w/ a black or African MC

  • Saga Vol. 3 by Brian K. Vaughan || if I’m quoting them: “Alana is frequently perceived as black and I feel like that universe “transcends” the racial categories we currently know and subscribe to so why not?” And it’s the only graphic novel on my shelf that fit’s this category that I haven’t read, you know? All of the other ones are read.
Reviews: Saga Vol. 1; Saga Vol. 2

HEAR US: Any work by a black/african author

  • How Long ‘Till Black Future Month? by N.K. Jemisin || Look, I am a broke teen… but I WILL be buying this.

MORE THAN A COLOR: Read a book starring an intersectional black character (black & LGBT, black & neurodivergent, black & disabled, etc)  

  • Not Your Villain by C.B. Lee || I was going to save this for my Pride TBR, but I’m just procrastinating…
Reviews: Not Your Sidekick

IN THIS TOGETHER: Read the group book

  • The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo || Because I’ve already read this and it’s very emotionally draining for me (I cried so much I ended up with a headache… yikes) I may or may not re-read this. I do want to go back and annotate it… Just have to mentally prepare myself.
Review

Alternatives that I may read… I don’t know yet.

All of these are books I own that have been on my shelf for too long. 

Tyler Johnson Was Here by Jay Coles || This was a #bookwish granted to me in 2018 and I have a feeling I’ll cry? Sooooooooooo been putting this one off… Let’s see if we get to it.

With The Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo || Just in case I don’t  reread The Poet X for the challenge… I’ll compensate with this one. {Comes out May 7th}

American Street by Ibi Zoboi || I’ve loved Pride and Black Enough, so I bought this on a whim.

Reviews: Pride; Black Enough

Akata Warrior by Nnedi Okorafor || I’ve read the first one in 2018 and just… haven’t picked this up… I actually think I’ll get to this one in February 😀 .

Review: Akata Witch

Any books that you could recommend for me? Wish me luck and let me know if your doing it, too!

8 thoughts on “Black-A-Thon TBR”

  1. This is awesome. I absolutely love the cover for How Long ‘Til Black Future Month. I hope you end up loving it. The Poet X made me cry so much too. I really want to do a reread of the audio version. I still haven’t started Saga, but really need too. American Street is fantastic. I hope enjoy that one. And With the Fire on High! I can’t wait for this one. Hope you enjoy all your reads!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 😃I’m gonna join! All the books look great. I’ve been planning to read Akata Witch forever. I like the extra motivation of readathons. Hopefully it’ll be my best reading month in a long time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment