I Thought I’d Hate You…

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme run by Thoughts on Tomes and Ginger Reads Lainey. The Goodreads group is linked here.

This list was harder than it probably needed to be, because I won’t waste my time on something I don’t think I’ll enjoy, you know? I don’t have the funds for it.

And this was before I could use my library card.

But I gave these a chance and I was surprised.

The Mortal Instruments – Cassandra Clare || I dedicated an entire post to why Clary wasn’t that badYa girl was shook.

Now, I’m not saying I absolutely loved this series, but it wasn’t as bad as I was anticipating. Three stars all aroundeven though I only made it to book three

City of Bones; City of Ashes; City of Glass

Shatter Me – Tahereh Mafi || I think I also mentioned Juliette in that post, but there were so many bad reviews at the top… yikes.

But again, not bad. Four stars all aroundagain, I have yet to read book four.

Shatter Me; Unravel Me; Ignite Me

The Martian – Andy Weir {Review} || Okay, I didn’t think I’d hate this, but when I saw it on the school’s library table in ninth grade, I didn’t think it’d be my cup of tea… PROVED ME WRONG.

Tigerlily – Jodi Lynn Anderson || This isn’t new, but WE ALL KNOW I DO NOT LIKE PETER PAN. AT ALL. I AVOID ALL STORY BASED AROUND HIM… except this one.

It also doesn’t help that I 100% shipped her with some one else…. but I know this story is more than a love story and it’s pretty great.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han || this actually relates to P.S. I Still Love You I actually bought this entire duology back when it was a  duology… and when I really liked said duology, I ended up preordering the third installment which was maybe my least favorite installment. But Even stranger, #unpopularopinion: the second book is my favorite of the three, which is wild since I despise love triangles….

How’s your January looking? Any plans? Was it a good reading month? What are you planning to read? Let me know in the comments below!

7 thoughts on “I Thought I’d Hate You…”

  1. Ooh I love this post! I always see a lot of hate for TMI and Shatter Me, and in particular, for Clary and Juliette. But I agree, both are great characters and the books aren’t really *that* bad!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment